About VICA

Virgin Islands Council on the Arts (VICA) is an agency of the Government of the Virgin Islands within the Department of Planning and Natural Resources.

The territorial Government funds VICA's Administrative functions while the National Endowment for the Arts (a federal agency in Washington, D.C.) is VICA's source of funding which is re-granted Territory-wide.

Dollar Fo Dollar performance
Poetry Out Loud winner

Mission Statement

VICA's mission is "to enrich the cultural life of citizens of the Virgin Islands through leadership that preserves, supports, strengthens and make accessible, excellence in the arts to all Virgin Islanders."

Dollar Fo Dollar performance
Poetry Out Loud winner

Goals and Objectives


Develop and strengthen individual artists, craft persons, art organizations and art resources to make the arts available to Virgin Islands residents.

Art student group photo with teacher


Preserve the cultural heritage of the Territory for present and future generations.

Dollar Fo Dollar performance

Board of Directors & Staff

VICA is governed by a six-member Board of Directors who are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Legislature. The board, comprised of two members from St. Croix and four from St. Thomas represents a cross section of citizens who have knowledge and expertise in the arts and culture of the Territory.
Each member serves three year terms and is charged with the responsibility of determining funding for the arts.

VICA convenes an ad-hoc advisory panel to make recommendations to the board based on their expertise in a particular art discipline.

Jose Raul Carrillo – Chairman

P.O. Box 515
St. Thomas, VI 00804-0515
Ph: (340) 513-2055

Mr. Carrillo was born and raised on St. Thomas and received his elementary and secondary education from Sts. Peter and Paul School. He later earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Business Administration from the College of the Virgin Islands. Mr. Carrillo was the Assistant to the Financial Aid Officer and became the Director of Financial Aid at the College of the Virgin Islands. He held the post of Chief Protocol Officer at Government House under Governor Schneider. He currently holds the position of Chief Protocol Officer to Governor de Jongh, Jr.

Claire Roker – Vice Chairwoman

P.O. Box 655, Frederiksted
St. Croix, VI 00841
Ph: (340) 513-9410

Claire Roker was born on the island of St. Croix and is well known for her work in the tourism industry where she served as Assistant Director and Assistant Commissioner of Tourism for the Government of the Virgin Islands from 1987 to 1995. She was the Office Manager for Delegate to Congress Donna Christensen and is currently the Manager of the Senate President Ronald Russell. Claire has dedicated many years to our community and is the recipient of innumerable local and national awards, some of which includes:

  • The Casper Holstein Award
  • Business and Professional Women's Woman of Achievement Award
  • Hal Jackson Talented Teen International Coordinator Award
  • National Association of Female Executives Award

Karen Thurland – Treasurer

P.O. Box 223054, Christiansted
St. Croix, VI 00822
Ph: (340) 642-5090

Karen Thurland is a native of St. Croix. She holds a Bachelors Degree in Social Services from Montclair State University, a Masters in History from Adelphi University and her Ph.D. from Union Institute and University. Ms. Thurland served as the Director of Curriculum, Instruction and Library Services from 1987 to 1995 after which she accepted the position of Assistant Principal of Arthur A. Richards Junior High School. Ms. Thurland, an author, is currently an active retiree engaged in researching and writing about Virgin Islands historical subjects and events.

Vernon Araujo

P.O. Box 307553
St. Thomas, VI 00830
Ph: (340) 626-3729

Vernon Araujo moved to the Virgin Islands from Antigua at the age of three. Mr. Araujo was a graduate of Antilles School before receiving a BS in Communication from Boston College in 2006. Since his return to St. Thomas that same year, he has co-founded the STT-STJ Young Professionals Network, and is on the Board of the Virgin Islands Olympic Committee, as well as the Virgin Islands Council on the Arts. Mr. Araujo currently co-owns a marketing company by the name of Melee Media, and has been the Development Director at Family Resource Center for the past three years. He has received various Legislative Certificates of Recognition for his work in the community, and continues to engage in community service.

Vernon Finch

P.O. Box 404
St. Thomas, VI 00804
Ph: (340) 998-1777

Vernon Finch was born and raised on St. Thomas. He is a 1967 graduate of Charlotte Amalie High School and earned his Bachelor of Arts in Sociology from Florida A&M University and a Masters in Public Education from the University of the Virgin Islands. Mr. Finch recently retired from his position as Administrator of Disabled and Vocational Rehabilitation Services at the Department of Human Services. He is actively involved in community activities as President of The Marine Action Group, a member of UVI Cell Board and a member of the Board of Directors of Mid-Atlantic Arts Foundation.

Glenn “Kwabena” Davis

P.O. Box 304274
St. Thomas, VI 00803
Ph: (340) 998-8952

Glenn Davis is a native Virgin Islander, born and raised on St. Thomas. He is a 1967 graduate of Charlotte Amalie High School and received his Bachelor of Arts degree from the College of the Virgin Islands. Glenn has worked in many branches of government. Most recently he retired from his position of Director of Cultural Education after three years on the job. Davis is an active retiree engaged in cultural education, civic and community activities. His name is synonymous with Virgin Islands Culture; he is a very popular Calypsonian, a charter member of The Committee to Revive Our Culture and the Founder/Director of Voices of Love. He is the recipient of numerous community awards to include the East Lions Club Appreciation Award, The Excelsior Club Lifetime Achievement Award and the GERS Calypso Appreciation Award.